Wiring harness swap
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Squidly Diddlers HeavyHustler's Avatar
    Member #
    3231
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    119

    Wiring harness swap

    Hey geezas.
    I was gonna swap out my old 07 harness for a newer, lower miles harness. I ended up getting an 09 harness, only to find that the fuel pump plug is not the same. I actually can't find it?

    I looked at the micro-fiche on BB and the fuel pump looks to be the same.....

    Anyone have any insight before I order another harness?

    Cheers
    Mark
    http://www.azdirtyaces.com/forum
    Motomarathon, CO. 2010 ASMA #309
    IBA#34978~ SS1000~ 10.11.08
    B2B Insanity~ BB1500~ 10.17.10
    Alaska Blog- http://3umphak.wordpress.com/

  2. #2
    Squidly Diddlers HeavyHustler's Avatar
    Member #
    3231
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    119
    Well after further research I've found the wires for the fuel pump on the 09 harness. For whatever reason there are 2 plugs? Same 4 wires though. Would there be a way to get a new fuel pump plug?
    http://www.azdirtyaces.com/forum
    Motomarathon, CO. 2010 ASMA #309
    IBA#34978~ SS1000~ 10.11.08
    B2B Insanity~ BB1500~ 10.17.10
    Alaska Blog- http://3umphak.wordpress.com/

  3. #3
    Squidly Diddlers HeavyHustler's Avatar
    Member #
    3231
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    119
    Well I got the plugs off of both harnesses hoping I could just swap the old plug. Unfortunately they use different dolallies to plug into the plastic plug........lol
    Attached Images Attached Images
    http://www.azdirtyaces.com/forum
    Motomarathon, CO. 2010 ASMA #309
    IBA#34978~ SS1000~ 10.11.08
    B2B Insanity~ BB1500~ 10.17.10
    Alaska Blog- http://3umphak.wordpress.com/

  4. Remove Advertisements
    TheSpeedTriple.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Noob! SPEEDTRIPPER's Avatar
    Member #
    17026
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyHustler View Post
    Well I got the plugs off of both harnesses hoping I could just swap the old plug. Unfortunately they use different dolallies to plug into the plastic plug........lol
    Try just splicing the last couple of inches of the old harness to the new one, should do the trick.

  6. #5
    Squidly Diddlers HeavyHustler's Avatar
    Member #
    3231
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    119
    That's what I was thinking. I got some of those fancy heat shrink connectors.
    http://www.azdirtyaces.com/forum
    Motomarathon, CO. 2010 ASMA #309
    IBA#34978~ SS1000~ 10.11.08
    B2B Insanity~ BB1500~ 10.17.10
    Alaska Blog- http://3umphak.wordpress.com/

  7. #6
    Noob! SPEEDTRIPPER's Avatar
    Member #
    17026
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    38
    As long as they're all sealed separately should be gold, and tucked up under the tank as well. I had to replace a section on my 07 when it wore through at the bracket near the headstock, and its working fine and that was ages ago.

 

 

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. WTB - 2010 ignition switch wiring harness
    By acadian in forum For Sale/Wanted - All Motorcycles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-28-2013, 08:21 AM
  2. 2007 wiring harness
    By Subaruzi in forum For Sale - Parts & Accessories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-20-2013, 05:04 PM
  3. wiring harness
    By horn in forum Speed Triple 1050 05-10/11
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-18-2013, 04:36 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-24-2008, 10:25 AM
  5. wiring harness
    By ctrhenry in forum Customization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-30-2008, 10:12 AM