Tps voltage influenced by fuel pump
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Noob! hobbelduif's Avatar
    Member #
    21275
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    3

    Tps voltage influenced by fuel pump

    Hi, i have a 2006 speedtriple 1050.
    I have a high idle problem. When i start the engine it starts tot idle at 3000 rpm.
    I did the TuneEcu iscv reset. The values are ok.
    But when i connect the fuel pump the TPS voltage rises from 0.6 to 0.69. How is this possible? That raises the stepper also with 0.15 volts. That is why the idle is high.
    The fuel pump works fine.
    What is cousing the problem?

  2. #2
    The "Friends" of Officer Frank Poncherello 2doggs's Avatar
    Member #
    6189
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6,645
    Maybe the stepper motor is failing. Usually the symptom of a failing stepper motor is low idle though.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Originally Posted by m4ppy
    I have always ridden Aprilias and Ducati bikes, but after years of failing electrics and parts failing off I moved over to Triumph.

  3. #3
    Noob! hobbelduif's Avatar
    Member #
    21275
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    3
    That was my first impression too. But connecting the fuel pump effects the volt level of the TPS too. What couses the change in volts?

  4. Remove Advertisements
    TheSpeedTriple.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    The "Friends" of Officer Frank Poncherello 2doggs's Avatar
    Member #
    6189
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6,645
    I’m really not sure. I spent 1.5 years trying to fix my issue then eventually dropped it off at the dealer. There are smarter people here that will chime in.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Originally Posted by m4ppy
    I have always ridden Aprilias and Ducati bikes, but after years of failing electrics and parts failing off I moved over to Triumph.

  6. #5
    Noob! turboz's Avatar
    Member #
    8090
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    2doggs, did the dealer fix the problem?

  7. #6
    Noob! hobbelduif's Avatar
    Member #
    21275
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    3
    I just disconnected the link between the stepper and the trottlebody. Idle is now running fine at about 1250rpm (set using the stop screw). I set the tps with the tank not connected. I tried both connected and not connected. Not connected runs fine. Issue fixed.

  8. #7
    The "Friends" of Officer Frank Poncherello 2doggs's Avatar
    Member #
    6189
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6,645
    Quote Originally Posted by turboz View Post
    2doggs, did the dealer fix the problem?
    Yes. New stepper motor.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Originally Posted by m4ppy
    I have always ridden Aprilias and Ducati bikes, but after years of failing electrics and parts failing off I moved over to Triumph.

  9. #8
    Squidly Diddlers def38's Avatar
    Member #
    4863
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    The woods and mountains of Alabama
    Posts
    109
    Hmmm....my BMW will never have that problem.
    I'm an old man...nothing of interest here...just move along sonny.

 

 

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •