Triumph Speed Triple Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening all!

I just purchased an '07 Speed Triple, and I love it. It's everything I ever wanted in a bike and then some. I'm beyond impressed.

Just like any used bike purchase, however, there are things I know I'm going to need to touch/fix/adjust/make better before it's running at peak performance. I'm going to end up posting each question separately, depending on whether I can find enough information on my own (searches, etc). I apologize ahead of time is I'm asking something that has been flogged/asked to death, but my searches are usually pretty thorough so I promise I've done the best that *I* can to find the answers. Plus, I'm new to Triumphs and these uh-may-zing triples, so please be gentle.

First and foremost issue (aside from the suspension needing some serious tweaking) is that the bike came with an Arrow 3 to 1 exhaust. I've done some research on this particular unit and it seems like it's an aftermarket option offered by Triumph - it even has the Triumph logo on it. All good so far. Thing is, the bike pops on deceleration (usually one loud pop, followed with a few smaller ones.) Doesn't happen *every* time but it happens much more often than not. Also the exhaust stinks of gas, especially when I open up the throttle (reported by my friend who was riding behind me).

The throttle is jerky. Like, really jerky. One of my previous rides was a Buell xb9 so I understand (and love) a good torque-monster, and I've ridden bikes with, shall we say, "touchy" throttles. This is bordering on unrideable though: coming through turns requires the most delicate of throttle manipulations, as any bump will cause jumping. That's pretty disconcerting. On a straight even the smallest throttle blips causes the bike to smack me in the ass. Some might describe it as "nervous", I think a better way to describe it is that the bike is trying its best to kill me.